Leave a comment

ABCJLM: Year 4, Week 8

This week worked out great for us. We worked on our I’m Thankful 4 posters. School Girl told me all kinds of random things that she is thankful for. Just a few to mention are friends, her water bottle, her head, markers, eyes and salad. My husband and I wrote down what we are thankful for and shared them with her.

Our Bible Story was about Joseph forgiving his brothers. My husband got into the homeschooling teacher role and told School Girl the story. I love it when he steps in and participates in homeschool. School Girl had fun coloring Joseph and his brothers purple and yellow. Our verse was Ephesians 4:32 “Be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave you.” 

We read the book of the week which was Toot and Puddle: Charming Opal. The story was about a little pig who lost her tooth. At the end of the story I asked School Girl if the tooth fairy was real or pretend and she said pretend. I didn’t grow up with the tooth fairy or Santa Claus so I don’t really want to do it with my kids.

We talked about spatial concepts some more. This time was top and bottom and in front and behind.

The letters of the week were N and M. School Girl worked on her penmanship. She also did an alphabet dot to dot. She wanted some extra writing practice so I pulled the number seven worksheet from week 10 and let her do it early. The nice part of homeschooling is that you can work ahead if you want to.

We finished reading Farmer Boy.

Week 9 is a review week which is perfect for us since I want to take a break for Christmas. We will be reviewing Bible verses from now until Dec 1st when we start our Jesse Advent Tree reading. Then we will have verses to memorize from the devotional book. I have plans for School Girl to work on some Christmas worksheets and crafts. I hope to do some baking and maybe a gingerbread house kit with her. After Christmas we will dive into week 10.

Leave a Reply

