1 Comment

Happy Mother’s Day!

First of all, I want to say Happy Mother’s Day to my own mother who recently let me know that she had found my blog. Now that I’m almost all grown up I can look back and really appreciate all the things that my mother did for me. I could go on and on about all the wonderful things that she taught us in homeschool. The times that she protected us when I thought she was just being unfair. The times when she sucked it up and was there for us even when she was sick, hurting or tired. The wonderful opportunities that she gave us.

But I’m also really proud of my mother. Because I saw how much she was growing and learning as a mother. We’ve gone through some really difficult things as a family and I’m really proud of the way that my mother has handled herself. She can be so strong for us and at the same time know her limits. I’m proud that my mother has in the past few years taken time to work through stuff in her personal life. She has recognized that she needs to spend time on herself to be an even better wife and mother. I’m proud that my mother is learning how to have a better balanced life. She is an awesome example to me!

Lastly, I want to talk about what Mother’s Day is to me. Being a mother is so amazing. Some people think a mother is born as she gives birth to her baby. But I think motherhood starts at the moment of conception. Having a life growing inside of me is amazing. Having a child is amazing. Sometimes I look at my daughter and marvel at the fact that she grew inside of me. That she came from my own body.

I don’t expect anything on Mother’s Day. So it is pleasant to get cards, a flower, chocolate. Being a mother is all that I need on Mother’s Day. Waking up this morning with my girl sleeping beside me. Holding my Toddler Girl and spending time with her. Being there for her through the tough times. Experiencing this little baby baby growing and moving inside of me. Knowing that labor is coming soon and then I’ll be able to hold this child in my arms. These things mean so much to me.

My husband is really awesome! He was the one who got me the chocolate. We were able to hang out yesterday and actually go on a date! He went to work afterwards and didn’t get home until the wee hours of the morning. So here I sit typing out my post while my husband and Toddler Girl sleep. I’ll be making my own breakfast this morning letting my husband get a little more sleep because I appreciate that he works so hard. He has told me that he wants to cook dinner tonight for me. I’m really looking forward to this. My husband makes dinner a lot. He’s the type of man that makes every day seem like Mother’s Day.

I’m so blessed!

One comment on “Happy Mother’s Day!

  1. Great post, i love it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

