Leave a comment

ABCJLM: Year 2, Weeks 1 & 2

This week we started the 2 year curriculum for the second time. The first time, Toddler Girl wasn’t even two yet. She wasn’t ready for some of the activities and I didn’t have the money to run out and buy all the art supplies either. She has received some art supplies as Christmas presents. Then yesterday, we bought a few more. So now we have markers, paints, and watercolors.

We started on the weekend because my husband was out of town and I needed some activities to keep us busy. We’ve been doing school everyday. We finished with the first week on Tuesday and then moved on to the second week’s activities.

Week 1

We read about the first two days of creation in our Bible story book. I started teaching Toddler Girl the creation finger play to help her remember what God created each day. I started teaching her the verse for the week, Genesis 1:1 In the Beginning God created the heavens and the earth. 

We completed the first two parts of the creation book, Day 1 and Day 2. For Day 1, I glued a half page of white paper to a full page of black paper to show night and day. For Day 2, Toddler Girl painted the bottom of a blue piece of paper blue and then we glued cotton clouds to the top. This shows the separation of the water above from the water below and the sky between the two.

Our song for the week was This Little Light of Mine. One day I lit a candle at lunch time, sang the song, and talked about our light shining like a candle. Our poem was Pat a cake. Toddler Girl liked this one and did the hand motions right along with me.

The color of the week was red. Toddler Girl colored the red wagon coloring page. The shape of the week was circle. We reused some of her old work for this project. I cut out the circles from the shape posters that she had already colored. Then I had her stick red stickers on them. Finally, I helped her glue the three circles to a red piece of paper. I plan on reusing all her shape posters. That way I don’t have to print out more and we are doing something different with them instead of just repeating the same activity.

We are doing the apple number tree project this time around. This week we colored the number 1 tree with crayons and then I made a little red apple and glued it on.

I’m working on Toddler Girl saying her first name. Her name is hard to say but she is doing a great job trying her best.

The book of the week was Llama Llama Red Pajama. I checked a bunch of Llama Llama books out from the library and we read them. But I had to find a video reading of the book online for the actual book of the week.

For the fine motor skill Toddler Girl colored on her easel.

Week 2

We read about the first three days of creation in our Bible story book. We did the creation finger play to help her remember what God created each day. We continued to work on Genesis 1:1 In the Beginning God created the heavens and the earth. 

We completed the third part of the creation book, Day 3. We tore up some brown and green construction paper and then glued the bits on a piece of paper to make a tree. I guided Toddler Girl in making the trunk and tried to keep the shape of a tree. But then she was getting so creative that I had to take a step back and let her do it her way. We added some flower stickers around the tree.

We also did the pasta flowers activity. I glued some pasta on paper to make flowers. Then we painted the stems green and flowers yellow. It was Toddler Girl’s first time using a paintbrush. She did quite well.

Our song was The BIBLE.

The color of the week was blue. I was going to have her do the line activity with blue paint. But then I decided to use green because we did this project right before the pasta flower one. I wanted to limit the colors that I had to get out. I guided Toddler Girl’s hand throughout this activity. She needed help to stay on the line.

We continued counting the apple on the tree and working on saying her first name and please.

For the fine motor skill Toddler Girl played with her shape sorter. She does great with this but has difficulty in jumping (the gross motor activity). I know that she will soon be able to jump but it doesn’t help that I can’t demonstrate jumping since I’m 7 months pregnant. I need to get Papa to work on the gross motor skills with her.

It was a fun week that also included a long morning at the park one day with friends. Toddler Girl shared her ball for the first time. I was so proud of her. She is really attached to her toys and usually doesn’t want any other kids to play with them. So this is a huge step for her.

 

Leave a Reply

