Leave a comment

Storing Up Treasures

This morning I was reading chapter 12 of the Gospel of Luke. Jesus tells a few parables and talks about storing up treasures in heaven instead of treasures here on earth. He talks about this man who had a huge harvest and wondered where he was going to put it. He decided to tear down his barns and build bigger ones so he could store his bounty.

This parable got me thinking about myself. I am a hoarder. If someone is giving something away I accept it. If I am done with something I save it for the future. I have toys, jewelry and clothes from my childhood that I saved for when I have kids. Now I have a daughter. I am looking forward to sharing these things with her some day. I save every receipt, bill, magazine, etc. I want to move to a bigger place so I can accept more stuff and save more things. But recently I’ve been rethinking my save everything because you never know when you’ll need it policy. Is this the best way to live? Instead of sharing what I have I’ve stored it away. I’m just like that man who stored away for the future so he could relax, eat, drink and be merry. I would be building bigger barns if I had the land to do it on. I think I need to sort through things and pass them on to people who could use them now. What if we had a fire in our house? We would lose everything and I would feel terrible for not sharing my stuff.

So, in order to simplify, share, and make room I’ve decided to sort through things and see what I can give away. I don’t want to continue to be a hoarder. I want to lay up treasures in heaven not here on earth.

Leave a Reply

