Leave a comment

Are People Really That Selfish?

Maybe it’s because I grew up with lots of brothers and no sisters. Maybe it’s because I was a sheltered homeschool girl. Maybe it’s because I grew up in small churches. Maybe it’s because of something else. There are just some things that I don’t understand. Some things about human nature that I can’t figure out. I’ll see something, hear something, read something and wonder, “They think that?” or “How can someone do that?” or “Why on earth?” It makes me realize how different everyone is and how I think and believe differently than most people.

Back when I was a kid there was a time when I realized that not just married people have babies. All of a sudden it dawned on me that people didn’t get pregnant just by praying to God and asking for a baby. So I asked my parents how it happened. After they told me (I was really grossed out) I finally understood. That’s how unmarried people get pregnant and how people get pregnant accidently.

Fast forward to now. Here I am living out my dream that my mother instilled in me. I’m a mother of two babies. It’s a wonderful experience for me. I admit it’s not all peachy keen. There are times that I just hope that Toddler Girl will take an extra long nap so I can get some time to myself. There are times I wish that she would fall asleep in two minutes at bedtime instead of taking almost an hour. But motherhood isn’t just about the wonderful moments. I can appreciate the awesome parts of being a mother because I also deal with the diapers and nap time meltdowns. I want a large family. Why? Because I came from one. Because my mother taught me that babies are a gift from God. Because I’ve seen first hand how wonderful children are. Because I love kids. Because God has planted this desire in my heart to have a large family. I know that not everyone has this overwhelming desire to raise a large brood of children. But what I don’t understand is why are there people who abort their babies? They are cheating someone out of having a life and they are throwing away their opportunity to be a mother. Are people really that selfish that they can’t stand to be pregnant and then give their baby to someone who wants it? Why do some woman cry at night because they want to be mothers and others cry at night because they don’t want to be a mother?

I sometimes wish that people really did get pregnant just by asking God for a baby. That way only people who really want a baby would get one. And everyone who wanted a baby would have one. But I think that there would be a lot less people if that were true. Because humans really are that selfish. God knows what He is doing.

Leave a Reply

