Leave a comment

God’s Rules Protect

I’m an old fashioned type of woman with old fashioned ideals. My beliefs aren’t that popular but I’m okay with that. I grew up in a home where my parents taught us about the Bible. They taught us to read the Bible and to follow God. I believe that is the best thing that my parents have done for me. I grew up learning about Jesus and how to follow Him. I’m not the best person. I know I’m not perfect. But that is what is the best part of being a follower of Christ. You don’t have to be perfect. In fact you can’t be perfect or you wouldn’t need God. I believe that we all have sinned and are in need of a Saviour. A lot of people think God just made up a bunch of rules that are impossible to follow and they are there so we can’t enjoy life. I’ve come to realize that a lot of God’s rules are there to protect us so we can enjoy life. We can enjoy the life that God has for us.

The Bible talks about love, relationships and sex. There are a lot of rules in there. God is trying to protect us from harm. I’ve seen this in my own life. I decided to save sexual relations for when I got married. I didn’t feel like I was missing out on anything. Partly because I didn’t know what I was missing and partly because I had faith in God’s plan. So I went into marriage having no “experience” but also having no baggage (in that area). I don’t carry wounds from past relationships. My husband (who also saved sex for marriage) and I have had a tremendous peace of mind and have not had to worry about all kinds of things other people have to worry about. We don’t have STD’s. We don’t have to worry about getting tested for them either because we are being faithful to each other. I don’t have to worry about my babies being at risk for being blind because I have STD’s. We are able to trust each other in a complete way because we know that if we could have each waited for 20+ years to have sex then we must have a good deal of self control. Because we saved sex for marriage we had our first kids together. We don’t have children from previous relationships or babies that were aborted because we wanted to cover over our sin. I have full confidence that I’m the only woman in my husbands eyes and will be the only woman. This is important for me because I marry for life.

I’ve seen the wisdom in God’s plan. I believe that I’m a healthier and happier person because of the rules that God has set. I’m not perfect. I’ve broken plenty of God’s rules. I’m not condemning anyone here who has had sex outside of marriage. I believe that when you follow God you do your best to follow His rules. When you fail (and you will) you ask God for forgiveness and presto! Your sins are forgiven. God wipes away each and every sin. He has a gift of eternal life for those who want to follow Him.

Leave a Reply

