Leave a comment

Favorite Recipes

My husband does most of the cooking in our family. He enjoys cooking and says it’s best for the picky eater to make dinner. I like cooking but let him do it most of the time. Both of us like experimenting and creating our own dishes even though it means that sometimes we have to eat some weird tasting food. My husband will look up recipes online. He found a good pizza crust, pancakes and cookies this way. I’m like my mother who likes to adapt recipes from books and make my own version. Only I usually follow the recipe the first time and then make improvements on it if I repeat it. I thought I would start sharing some recipe favorites.

I really like banana bread. You can find a good Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread in the 1981 edition of Whole Foods for the Whole Family La Leche League International Cookbook. This is a cookbook that I got off of my mother’s shelves. It has a lot of great recipes that don’t include instructions like “add one can of this and one package of that.” I sometimes add applesauce instead of one of the bananas. For my daughter I use almond flour instead of nuts. I also like adding a tablespoon of flax seed as a nutritional boost.

My favorite dinner from Whole Foods for the Whole Family is Chili Con Carne. It’s a mild chili that tastes good by itself, or with bread, pasta, quinoa, or potatoes. The recipe calls for kidney beans but I made it once with both garbanzo and red beans. My husband always adds hot sauce to his bowl.

Who does the cooking in your family?

Leave a Reply

